Collingwood Spotlights, Community Spotlights

Looking Back – Collingwood Terminals

Looking Back – Collingwood Terminals featured image

For almost a century, the Collingwood Terminals building has been one of the area’s most prominent landmarks on the shore of Georgian Bay.

The Collingwood Terminals were completed in 1930, after dredging the harbour to allow the massive ships of the era to dock and unload their cargo.

The cement Terminals held over two million bushels of grain, with bins a hundred feet high and twenty-two feet in diameter.

Grain service stopped in 1993, ending sixty-four years of operation for the elevator and over a century of grain trade in Collingwood. But the iconic building still stands. It can be seen for miles around, an enduring symbol of agriculture and shipping – the “twin engines of commerce” in the early 1900s.

Listen on the Go

Download Apps
Download Apps
Download Apps
Anti Noise Pollution
Film Reviews with Marc Glassman
Sister Station - Zoomer Radio

Recently Played