Have you ever sent an email you immediately regret? Who hasn’t? Now the latest feature on Google’s Gmail service can provide a brief window of sober second thought.
Google has announced that an “undo” link now appears next to the confirmation that your email has been sent.
The link is active for five seconds after you send the email. During the time, Gmail holds the email instead of sending it right away, just in case you need to take it back.
The feature is only available if you compose your email online through the Gmail website as opposed to offline email software like Outlook. You also have to have turned it on in your settings under the “lab” tab.
The only other provider offering this feature now is a paid email service Novell Groupwise.
AOL, which is also free, used to have an “unsend” feature. But it doesn’t anymore.